�latest
�older
�rings
�profile
�g'book
�design
�dland

and it's hard to hold a candle
Wednesday, Nov. 27, 2002 - 6:40 pm
am i being presumptuous ?

prestently listening to:the voice in my head saying i screwed up

intentions to:

soberity level:

i sent him my entry "a reason to smile" this morning in a way to thank him. it was about him. i wanted him to know how i felt.

this is what he writes that same day in his journal.

"I realized this morning how horrible it is to describe emotions. Actually horrible is a harsh word. Not sure what word I would use. And this brings me to my point. Does describing an emotion ruin it? Does putting words to raw feeling diminish or embelish that feeling? Is it capable to express what one feels correctly through communication of any kind? There are songs, paintings, sculptures, buildings, I'd go so far as to say food, that is made to express a feeling, a mood, an emotion. It is difficult because when interpreting what other people are trying to express to us, we bring in our own experiences, our past emotions. So what we think they feel is our interpretation of their communication of an emotion that we have a slight idea about.

Sometimes it's better to just see it on their face, in their eyes, or their smile.

I don't mean to sound so static on the subject, I still try to use words to describe how i feel, and I always will. And I'm not suggesting that you do the same. I'm just saying, think about it when you are trying to say how you feel and visa versa."

am i being presumptuous in feeling like my heart was just stepped on? with cleats?

tell me i'm just paranoid.

everyone else says i'm paranoid.

prev - next

in the cold November rain